Showing posts with label history. Show all posts
Showing posts with label history. Show all posts

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Delete Database Option

When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
database".
What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
Tha
If you don't care about the database, sure.
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha
|||Hi,
What does this option means ?
When ever you perform a Backup or restore of database or transaction log a
entry will put into
MSDB..backupfile, msdb..backupmediafamily,msdb..backupmediaset
tables,msdb..restorefile,msdb..restorefilegroup,ms db..restorehistory.
These are nothing but history of your backup and restore operation. So when
when you select this option
automatically all the history will be deleted form MSDB database for the
above tables.
Should I select it ?
Since you do not require even the database, you can select this option.
Thanks
Hari
MCDBA
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha

Delete Database Option

When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
database".
What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
ThaIf you don't care about the database, sure.
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx
.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha|||Hi,
What does this option means ?
When ever you perform a Backup or restore of database or transaction log a
entry will put into
MSDB..backupfile, msdb..backupmediafamily,msdb..backupmediaset
tables,msdb..restorefile,msdb..restorefilegroup,msdb..restorehistory.
These are nothing but history of your backup and restore operation. So when
when you select this option
automatically all the history will be deleted form MSDB database for the
above tables.
Should I select it ?
Since you do not require even the database, you can select this option.
Thanks
Hari
MCDBA
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx
.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha

Delete Database Option

When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
database".
What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
ThaIf you don't care about the database, sure.
--
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha|||Hi,
What does this option means ?
When ever you perform a Backup or restore of database or transaction log a
entry will put into
MSDB..backupfile, msdb..backupmediafamily,msdb..backupmediaset
tables,msdb..restorefile,msdb..restorefilegroup,msdb..restorehistory.
These are nothing but history of your backup and restore operation. So when
when you select this option
automatically all the history will be deleted form MSDB database for the
above tables.
Should I select it ?
Since you do not require even the database, you can select this option.
--
Thanks
Hari
MCDBA
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha

Friday, February 17, 2012

Default Trace SQL 2005

What settings are there for the default trace option in SQL 2005? I see that
it stores a history of traces in the \MSSQL.1\MSSQL\LOG. It is pretty cool
because it will show you in SSMS a SQL report with schema changes on a per
database level.
I just want to know how to modify the setings for the default trace option as
far as size, time, and rollover.The only setting that exists is to turn it off (using sp_configure). IF you want something different
from the default, you have to roll your own (using server-side traces). Being able to customize
these things is interesting, so you might want to suggest this for next version
(http://connect.microsoft.com/sqlserver).
--
Tibor Karaszi, SQL Server MVP
http://www.karaszi.com/sqlserver/default.asp
http://sqlblog.com/blogs/tibor_karaszi
"evan4434" <u36821@.uwe> wrote in message news:7709e496ca18a@.uwe...
> What settings are there for the default trace option in SQL 2005? I see that
> it stores a history of traces in the \MSSQL.1\MSSQL\LOG. It is pretty cool
> because it will show you in SSMS a SQL report with schema changes on a per
> database level.
> I just want to know how to modify the setings for the default trace option as
> far as size, time, and rollover.
>