Showing posts with label restore. Show all posts
Showing posts with label restore. Show all posts

Thursday, March 29, 2012

Delete Database Option

When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
database".
What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
Tha
If you don't care about the database, sure.
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha
|||Hi,
What does this option means ?
When ever you perform a Backup or restore of database or transaction log a
entry will put into
MSDB..backupfile, msdb..backupmediafamily,msdb..backupmediaset
tables,msdb..restorefile,msdb..restorefilegroup,ms db..restorehistory.
These are nothing but history of your backup and restore operation. So when
when you select this option
automatically all the history will be deleted form MSDB database for the
above tables.
Should I select it ?
Since you do not require even the database, you can select this option.
Thanks
Hari
MCDBA
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha

Delete Database Option

When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
database".
What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
ThaIf you don't care about the database, sure.
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx
.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha|||Hi,
What does this option means ?
When ever you perform a Backup or restore of database or transaction log a
entry will put into
MSDB..backupfile, msdb..backupmediafamily,msdb..backupmediaset
tables,msdb..restorefile,msdb..restorefilegroup,msdb..restorehistory.
These are nothing but history of your backup and restore operation. So when
when you select this option
automatically all the history will be deleted form MSDB database for the
above tables.
Should I select it ?
Since you do not require even the database, you can select this option.
Thanks
Hari
MCDBA
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx
.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha

Delete Database Option

When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
database".
What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
ThaIf you don't care about the database, sure.
--
http://www.aspfaq.com/
(Reverse address to reply.)
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha|||Hi,
What does this option means ?
When ever you perform a Backup or restore of database or transaction log a
entry will put into
MSDB..backupfile, msdb..backupmediafamily,msdb..backupmediaset
tables,msdb..restorefile,msdb..restorefilegroup,msdb..restorehistory.
These are nothing but history of your backup and restore operation. So when
when you select this option
automatically all the history will be deleted form MSDB database for the
above tables.
Should I select it ?
Since you do not require even the database, you can select this option.
--
Thanks
Hari
MCDBA
"Peter" <anonymous@.discussions.microsoft.com> wrote in message
news:20b9d01c4597e$661e7540$a401280a@.phx.gbl...
> When I attempt to delete a database, there is a checkbox
> saying - "Delete backup and restore history for the
> database".
> What does this option means ? Should I select it ?
> Tha

Friday, February 17, 2012

Default Template for User Defined Function

How can I restore the original User Defined Function Template? I made
an error and saved one of my UDFs as a template but would like the
original template restored?

TIAThanks. SQL User Defined Functions only allow you to save one
template. Do you know which one is the default installed by SQL Server
2000?|||(jhmosow@.gmail.com) writes:
> Thanks. SQL User Defined Functions only allow you to save one
> template. Do you know which one is the default installed by SQL Server
> 2000?

Not sure that I understand. I found three templates on my machine, which
I assume are the default templates. And it seems reasonable to me that
there are three templates, as there are three types of UDF. Does not
seem like a good idea to one have one template for all three.

--
Erland Sommarskog, SQL Server MVP, esquel@.sommarskog.se

Books Online for SQL Server 2005 at
http://www.microsoft.com/technet/pr...oads/books.mspx
Books Online for SQL Server 2000 at
http://www.microsoft.com/sql/prodin...ions/books.mspx|||On 6 Jan 2006 05:54:42 -0800, jhmosow@.gmail.com wrote:

>Thanks. SQL User Defined Functions only allow you to save one
>template. Do you know which one is the default installed by SQL Server
>2000?

Hi jhmosow,

This is not correct. You can store all three (or even more, if you
desire).

The location where templates for user-defined fuinctions are stored
(asssuming that SQL Server is installed in the default directory) is
(warning, path may wrap)

C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\80\Tools\Templates\SQL Query
Analyzer\Create Function\*.tql

The "...\Create Function\" is a folder; the three .tql files Erland sent
you should be stored there.

--
Hugo Kornelis, SQL Server MVP